The first Brewer of the Year 2016 circuit competition was the Homebrew Roundup in Calgary.  Mike Foniok of the Yeast Wranglers had this to say about their competition:

This year, the Cowtown Yeast Wranglers held their 8th annual Homebrew Roundup. We had a record number of beer, cider, and mead entries totaling 452, scoring an average of 32 points. The Best of Show award went to Darrin Sayers for his spectacular English Barleywine. And the Yeast Wrangler of the Year title was awarded to Michal Foniok for winning the most points in this year’s competition. Congratulations to all the medal winners and a big Thank You to all the volunteers, BJCP judges, and entrants for making this event a success!